Endorsement Tracker: Who's endorsing who? Updated April 15

Endorsements can give us some idea of where the candidates stand—and who and where they're garnering support from. 

So far the candidates have picked up these notable endorsements:

Sarah Hoffman

  • Nathan Ip, Alberta NDP MLA for Edmonton-South West
  • Marlin Schmidt, Alberta NDP MLA for Edmonton-Goldbar
  • Lori Sigurdson, Alberta NDP MLA for Edmonton-Riverview
  • Peggy Wright, Alberta NDP MLA for Edmonton-Beverley-Clareview
  • Ray Martin, former leader of Alberta NDP from 1984-1994, former ANDP MLA for Edmonton-Beverley-Clareview 2004-2008, former Edmonton Public School Board trustee 2013-2017
  • Anand Sharma, former president of the Alberta NDP
  • Graham Sucha, former Alberta NDP MLA for Calgary Shaw
  • Lito Mendoza VelascoFilipino Servant-Leader
  • Bob Wanner, former Alberta NDP MLA for Medicine Hat
  • Shelagh Dunn, former Edmonton Public School Board (EPSB) trustee
  • Linda Duncan, former NDP MP for Edmonton-Strathcona
  • Trisha Estabrooks, Edmonson Public School Board trustee and federal NDP candidate for Edmonton-Centre
  • Cam Heenan, former Alberta NDP candidate for Leduc-Beaumont
  • Barrie Chivers, former Alberta NDP MLA for Edmonton Strathcona, well-known and respected labour lawyer
  • Anam Kazim, former Alberta NDP MLA for Calgary Glenmore
  • Janet Laddish, Edmonton-Decore constituency president
  • Erica Bullwinkle, former president of the Alberta NDP
  • Bob Cocking, former president of ATA Local 38 Calgary
  • Donna Staszenski, longtime NDP volunteer (and great person!)
  • Michael Janz, Edmonton city councillor and former Edmonton Public School Board Trustee
  • Elizabeth Strange, co-chair, Women’s Caucus; 2019 federal candidate Medicine Hat-Cardston-Warner
  • Alex McEachern, former Alberta NDP MLA for Edmonton-Kingsway 
  • Laura PennerSecretary for Edmonton-City Centre riding association, former Gender and Sexual Diversity Caucus Co-chair
  • Donna Hokiro, President of United Steelworkers Local 1944
  • Jocelyn Johnson, federal NDP 2021 candidate for Medicine Hat-Cardston-Warner, former president Edmonton-West Henday EDA, current director of campaigns at the Alberta Federation of Labour
  • Tonya Malo, 2023 campaign manager for Rakhi Pancholi and Jodi Calahoo-Stonehouse, Edmonton-Glenora vice-president, former president of AUPE Local 54
  • Miriam RycroftEdmonton-Glenora constituency president
  • Julie Hrdlickaformer Calgary Board of Education Trustee
  • Dr. Phillip van der MerweFounder of the Calgary West Central Primary Care Network, Provincial PCN Physician Leads Executive Co-Chair, Alberta NDP candidate for Calgary-Lougheed in 2017
  • Rodel Paguirgan, Executive Director of Small Business Association in Alberta
  • Mandy Melnyk, farmer, author, Alberta NDP 2012 candidate for Athabasca-Sturgeon-Redwater, founding member of Rural Caucus

Kathleen Ganley

  • Shannon Phillips, Alberta NDP MLA for Lethbridge-West
  • Irfan Sabir, Alberta NDP MLA for Calgary-Bhullar McCall
  • Sharif Haji, Alberta NDP MLA for Edmonton-Decore 
  • Heather Sweet, Alberta NDP MLA for Edmonton-Manning
  • Julia Hayter, Alberta NDP MLA for Calgary-Edgemont
  • Gurinder Brar, Alberta NDP MLA for Calgary-North East
  • Amanda Chapman, Alberta NDP MLA for Calgary-Beddington
  • Jasvir Deol, Alberta NDP MLA for Edmonton-Meadows
  • Danielle Larivee, former Alberta NDP MLA for Lesser Slave Lake
  • Shaye Anderson, former Alberta NDP MLA for Leduc-Beaumont
  • Craig Coolahan, former Alberta NDP MLA for Calgary-Klein
  • Michael Reinhart, business manager, International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (IBEW) Local 424
  • David Cloutier, former Alberta NDP candidate for Calgary-Shaw
  • Rob Miyashiro, former councillor for Lethbridge. Former Alberta NDP candidate for Lethbridge-East
  • Gwendoline Dirk, former Alberta NDP candidate for Brooks-Medicine Hat
  • Kevin Van Tighem, former Alberta NDP candidate for Livingstone-Macleod
  • Rebecca Bounsall, former Alberta NDP candidate for Calgary-Fish Creek
  • Gurbachan Brar, former Alberta NDP candidate for Calgary-North East
  • Joan Chand'oiseau, former Alberta NDP candidate for Calgary-West
  • Yadvinder Bhardwaj, former co-chair of Alberta NDP Race Equity Caucus
  • Jazminn Hintz, treasurer, Calgary-Mountain View NDP electoral district association (EDA)
  • Alfredo Louro, Calgary-Edgemont NDP EDA President
  • Lisa Lambert, Lethbridge-East and Lethbridge-West NDP EDA treasurer
  • Renee Dunn, Calgary Mountain View NDP EDA President
  • Dr. Alana Luft, Calgary-Edgemont NDP EDA treasurer
  • Peter Mueller, former Alberta NDP candidate for Cypress-Medicine Hat
  • Colleen Quintal, former Alberta NDP candidate for Cardston-Siksika

Jodi Calahoo Stonehouse

  • Chief Desmond Bull, campaign co-chair, chief of Louis Bull Tribe, former Grand Chief of the Confederacy of Treaty 6 First Nations, former Green Party of Alberta candidate in 2019
  • Brooks Arcand-Paul, Alberta NDP MLA for Edmonton West-Henday
  • Dr. Sarah Elmeligi, Alberta NDP MLA for Banff-Kananaskis

Naheed Nenshi

  • Rakhi Pancholi, Alberta NDP MLA for Edmonton-Whitemud
  • Nagwan Al-Guneid, Alberta NDP MLA for Calgary-Glenmore
  • Marie Renaud, Alberta NDP MLA for St. Albert
  • Rhiannon Hoyle, Alberta NDP MLA for Edmonton-South
  • David Shepherd, Alberta NDP MLA for Edmonton-Centre
  • Samir Kayande, Alberta NDP MLA for Calgary-Elbow
  • Rod Loyola, Alberta NDP MLA for Edmonton-Ellerslie
  • Parmeet Singh, Alberta NDP MLA for Calgary-Falconridge
  • Court Ellingson, Alberta NDP MLA for Calgary-Foothills
  • Fred Kreiner, Alberta NDP candidate for West Yellowhead in 2023
  • Jann Arden, musician 
  • Andrew Phung, actor
  • Marc Chikinda, former dean of communication studies at MRU, former Alberta NDP candidate in Calgary-Mountain View in 2015.

Gil McGowan

  • Lanny Chudyk, president of Civic Service Union 52 in Edmonton
  • Steve Bradshaw, president Amalgamated Transit Union Local 569 in Edmonton
  • Alberta Federation of Labour executive council, details here. A list of AFL affiliated unions, organizations and locals can be found here.

Rakhi Pancholi **Rakhi Pancholi dropped out of the ANDP leadership race and endorsed Naheed Nenshi**

  • Nagwan Al-Guneid, Alberta NDP MLA for Calgary-Glenmore. Campaign co-chair
  • Rhiannon Hoyle, Alberta NDP MLA for Edmonton-South. Campaign co-chair
  • Marie Renaud, Alberta NDP MLA for St. Albert. Campaign co-chair
  • Bill Tonita, Councillor, Strathcona County. Former Alberta NDP candidate for Strathcona-Sherwood Park
  • Karen Shaw, Former councillor for Sturgeon County. Former Alberta NDP candidate for Morinville-St. Albert
  • Ed Whittingham, former executive director of the Pembina Institute

Editor's note: the Ganley campaign and the Hoffman campaign have adopted the practice of gathering endorsements from party members and volunteers. For the sake of brevity we have decided to set the cut-off point for inclusion on the endorsement tracker to be at least an EDA executive member or a former party candidate (with the exception of Donna Staszenski).

The campaigns' own endorsement pages can be found at